This map was created so you can know what the minimum wage state to state rates are at a glance.
Fair labor laws across America mandates the minimum wage for work by covered and non-exempt employees. State laws supplement the federal minimum for covered employees currently set at $7.25 per hour which is found in the Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA). Employees are entitled to the higher of the two minimum earning rates when both State & Federal hourly rates apply.
While employers are required to pay workers the mandated rates for hourly work, it isn't always so easy as referring to our map of current minimum wage rates to see if you are getting paid what you should. The workplace regulations include a number of exemptions, coverage rules and rate adjustments. Employment attorneys can help you determine how the laws apply to your situation if you are unsure whether you are covered.
Exemptions: The rules governing minimum pay rates for work have a number of exceptions.
Covered Employees: According to the DOL, "All employees of certain enterprises having workers engaged in interstate commerce, producing goods for interstate commerce, or handling, selling, or otherwise working on goods or materials that have been moved in or produced for such commerce by any person, are covered by the FLSA." However, even if your employer doesn't meet FLSA requirements, you still may be covered. Tipped employee coverage generally requires the minimum hourly wage combined with tips to meet the minimums of the provision.
Exempt Employees: A number of "white collar" employees are considered exempt from minimum wage laws - though it's the duties you perform not your job title which determines whether or not you are exempt. Exemptions for employees, farm workers, or public sector employees, as defined by both federal and state laws apply. The duties test may apply when determining exemptions and coverage by job.
Enforcement is the responsibility of the U.S. Dept. of Labor's Wage and Hour Division (WHD). Workers who believe they are owed wages following illegal underpayment have a right to file a claim. Though not required to file a complaint, lawyers for employees can help you with a wage and hour claim if your pay situation did, in fact, violate the laws.
Know your rights! But get qualified legal representation if you face a legal problem of your own.
The following is a list of minimum wage rates for each state effective as of 2018. State increases are detailed in the list for upcoming years where stipulated. Nationwide rate change data provided by the National Conference of State Legislatures.
The federal minimum rate at the time of this writing remains $7.25. In States which do not regulate a minimum wage the Federal minimum rate is used.
|Alabama||$7.25 (Federal Minimum Wage, no state minimum)|
|Alaska||$9.84 (Annual indexing has begun)|
|Arizona||$10.50 (Raised to $12.00 through Indexed Annual Increases between 1/1/2019 to 1/1/2020)|
|California||$11.00 ($11.00 to $15.00 in $1.00 Indexed Annual Increases between 1/1/2019 to 1/1/2022)|
|Colorado||$10.20 ($10.20 to $12.00 in $0.90 Indexed Annual Increases between 1/1/2019 and 1/1/2020)|
|District of Columbia (DC)||$12.50 (Increases to $15 with Indexed Annual Increases between 7/1/2018 and 7/1/2020)|
|Florida||$8.25 (Tipped & Non-Tipped Employees), Maximum Tip Credit $3.02, Minimum Cash Wage $5.23|
|Georgia||$5.15 if not covered by Federal Regulations otherwise $7.25 (Federal Minimum Wage)|
|Louisiana||$7.25 (Federal Minimum Wage, no state stipulated minimum)|
|Maine||$10.00 (11.00 to $12.00 in $1.00 annual Increases between 1/1/2019 to 1/1/2020) (Indexed annual increases will begin on 1/1/2021)|
|Minnesota||Large employers are required to pay workers $9.65/hour and small employers (less than 500k in annual sales) $7.87 (Indexed Annual increases will begin on 1/1/2018)|
|Mississippi||$7.25 (Federal Minimum Wage, no state minimum)|
|Montana||$8.30 ($4.00 for businesses with gross annual sales of $110,000 or less) (Annual indexing has begun)|
|Nevada||$8.25 Nevada’s minimum wage is set at $1.00 above the federal minimum wage for firms not providing health insurance.|
|New Jersey||$8.60 - Annual Indexing|
|New York||$10.40 ($0.70 Indexed Annual Increases from 12/31/2018 to $12.50 by 12/31/2020. Starting 1/1/2021, the rate will be adjusted annually for inflation to $15 an hour)|
|Ohio||$8.30 ($7.25 for employers with gross sales of $283,000 or less) - Annual Indexing|
|Oregon||$10.75 (From $10.75 to $13.50 from 7/1/2019 to 7/1/2022)|
|South Carolina||$7.25 (Federal Minimum Wage, no state minimum)|
|South Dakota||$8.65 - Annual Indexing|
|Tennessee||$7.25 (Federal Minimum Wage, no state minimum)|
|Vermont||$10.50 - Annual indexing begins 1/1/2019|
|Washington||$11.50 (From $12.50 to $13.50 from 1/1/2019-1/1/2020)|
|Wyoming||$7.25 - $5.15 if federal regulations do not apply|
Intended as a safeguard for laborers and workers, the 1938's Fair Labor Standards Act began the practice of establishing a set minimum base standard pay rate to protect the well-being and health of workers. People working for employers on an hourly basis, determined to be covered employees, have a right to the minimum earning rate established by the provision. In situations where State laws exist, they higher pay rate applies.
The Department of Labor's Wage and Hour Division is empowered to investigate alleged violations of the wage laws can compel employer records be provided and force witness participation in an effort to enforce the provisions. Victims have the option of filing suit for civil damages in some situations, and criminal and monetary fines are a possibility for employers who willfully violated the statutes. Depending on the circumstances, civil claims seeking to recover unpaid wages may be able to recover attorney's fees, liquidated damages in the amount of unpaid wages and wages owed under the FLSA.
State vs. Federal Requirements: Employers are required to apply whichever mandated rate of pay is of the greatest benefit to the worker. State minimum wage laws cannot exempt employers from Federal coverage requirements. When in doubt about the wage laws specific to your State, seek qualified legal counsel. Minimum wage pay requirements do NOT apply to exempt employees, farm workers, or public sector employees, as defined by BOTH federal and state laws.
Covered workers in America are guaranteed the minimum rate of pay for hourly work engaged in - when employers fail to pay workers what they are legally entitled, knowing or unknowingly, it amounts to wage theft.
Continue reading to learn more.
Recently reported statistics from the Department of Labor show in 2008 there was a total of $140.2 million paid out to over 197,000 employees as the result of employer FLSA violations (DOL). Some of the hour and wage violations reported include:
- Requiring employees to work off the clock
- Calculating hours as an average over two work weeks
- Claiming that the employee is not eligible for overtime pay because they did not obtain permission to work the extra hours
- Failing to pay workers for meetings, training sessions, on call time, take home work, and breaks lasting between 5 and 20 minutes
- Misclassification of employees as exempt from overtime
- Paying "comp" time instead of overtime
Employer wage theft is a massive problem across the United States accounting for millions of dollars in entitled earnings annually.
In some cases, employers are simply ignorant of required compensation obligations to those in their employ. Others are taking willful action to avoid paying employees what they are owed. When they illegally avoid paying what people are entitled for their work it constitutes wage theft - they are knowingly or unknowingly stealing from their workers.
When an worker punches out after a full day of work, puts in the long hours required at their work - they have a reasonable expectation to their paycheck.
Here are some resources (a running collection) of official and useful online information having to do with basic laws and statutes important in the workplace.
The following State court and legislative resources are intended to help with your labor law & workplace regulation research.
- Occupational Safety & Health Administration (OSHA)
- Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (Title VII)
- The Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967 (ADEA)
- The Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)
- Family Medical Leave Act (FMLA)
- The Equal Pay Act of 1963 (EPA)
Additional State regulations and local laws may also afford additional protections in the workplace.State Regulations: (Specific to your State of Residence)
Wage Resources by State: Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Arkansas, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Idaho Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maine, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan,, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska Nevada, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Oregon, Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, South Carolina, South Dakota Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, Wisconsin, Wyoming
State laws are always subject to change.